Venue information
The Foundling Museum
40 Brunswick Square, London, WC1N 1AZ
About this event
Cost Free with Museum admission
Websitewebsite
Tel02078413600
This exhibition delves into the mechanics of theatre and concert going in eighteenth and nineteenth century Britain. With more than 100 objects on display, discover the surprising similarities and astonishing differences between theatre and festival-going then and now, including advertising, ticket sales, audience behaviour and dress code.

Enjoy a fascinating glimpse of behind-the-scenes roles, from theatre managers, set designers and scenery-painters, to the refreshment sellers and ticket collectors. Learn how leading artists of the day, including Hogarth, Hayman and Lambert, crossed over into the world of show business as set designers and scenery painters.
Pictures
Reviews

We currently have no reviews for this event, please add one using the link above.

People involved

Are you involved?
Tell us how you are connected

Upcoming Performances
Fri 6th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sat 7th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sun 8th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Mon 9th Dec
Tue 10th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Wed 11th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Thu 12th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Fri 13th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sat 14th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sun 15th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Mon 16th Dec
Tue 17th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Wed 18th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Thu 19th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Fri 20th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sat 21st Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sun 22nd Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Mon 23rd Dec
Tue 24th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Wed 25th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Thu 26th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Fri 27th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sat 28th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sun 29th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Mon 30th Dec
Tue 31st Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Wed 1st Jan 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Thu 2nd Jan 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Fri 3rd Jan 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sat 4th Jan 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sun 5th Jan 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook