Venue information
The Foundling Museum
40 Brunswick Square, London, WC1N 1AZ
About this event
Cost Free with Museum admission
Websitewebsite
Tel02078413600
This exhibition delves into the mechanics of theatre and concert going in eighteenth and nineteenth century Britain. With more than 100 objects on display, discover the surprising similarities and astonishing differences between theatre and festival-going then and now, including advertising, ticket sales, audience behaviour and dress code.

Enjoy a fascinating glimpse of behind-the-scenes roles, from theatre managers, set designers and scenery-painters, to the refreshment sellers and ticket collectors. Learn how leading artists of the day, including Hogarth, Hayman and Lambert, crossed over into the world of show business as set designers and scenery painters.
Pictures
Reviews

We currently have no reviews for this event, please add one using the link above.

People involved

Are you involved?
Tell us how you are connected

Upcoming Performances
Sat 19th Oct 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sun 20th Oct 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Mon 21st Oct
Tue 22nd Oct 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Wed 23rd Oct 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Thu 24th Oct 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Fri 25th Oct 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sat 26th Oct 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sun 27th Oct 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Mon 28th Oct
Tue 29th Oct 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Wed 30th Oct 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Thu 31st Oct 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Fri 1st Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sat 2nd Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sun 3rd Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Mon 4th Nov
Tue 5th Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Wed 6th Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Thu 7th Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Fri 8th Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sat 9th Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sun 10th Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Mon 11th Nov
Tue 12th Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Wed 13th Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Thu 14th Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Fri 15th Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sat 16th Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sun 17th Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Mon 18th Nov
Tue 19th Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Wed 20th Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Thu 21st Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Fri 22nd Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sat 23rd Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sun 24th Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Mon 25th Nov
Tue 26th Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Wed 27th Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Thu 28th Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Fri 29th Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sat 30th Nov 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sun 1st Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Mon 2nd Dec
Tue 3rd Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Wed 4th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Thu 5th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Fri 6th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sat 7th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sun 8th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Mon 9th Dec
Tue 10th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Wed 11th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Thu 12th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Fri 13th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sat 14th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook
Sun 15th Dec 10:00 The Foundling Museum, 40 Brunswick Square, London... yahoo google outlook