Address
Address Charing Cross Road
Charing Cross
London
WC2H 0DA
Tel 020 7369 1736
Website website
Capacity 759
Ives http://ives.info/gb/xhkb7
Tags Historic Building Theatre

List Upcoming Event

About

The theatre’s architect was William Sprague who was then at his peak.

Wyndham’s was the first West End theatre he designed in his own right and one of seven theatres that he completed that year.

It was, and still is, a theatrical gem. The décor was in the Louis XVI style, in the auditorium the prettily painted balcony and box fronts were matched in lightness of touch by a circular ceiling in the style of François Boucher.

The original turquoise, cream and gold colour scheme is still very much in evidence today and will remain so as the theatre is gradually refurbished.

The exterior was built in Sprague’s favourite free classical style using Portland stone, a material with which he could combine the artistic and the practical.

Art, Yasmina Reza’s satirical triple-hander began it’s record breaking run of over 2,000 performances in 1996 before transferring to the Whitehall Theatre where, more than six years later, its 27th cast gave their final performance on 4 January 2003.

The Donmar West End season will also include Derek Jacobi starring in Twelfth Night, Judi Dench in Yukio Mishima's Madame de Sade and Jude Law in Hamlet, all staged by Grandage.

Pictures
Location
Venue reviews

We currently have no reviews for this venue, please add one.

Venue Owner/Manager

Do you manage this venue?

Next 90 days view all events
Tue 28th Feb 19:30 The Kite Runner yahoo google outlook
Wed 1st Mar 19:30 The Kite Runner yahoo google outlook
Thu 2nd Mar 19:30 The Kite Runner yahoo google outlook
Fri 3rd Mar 19:30 The Kite Runner yahoo google outlook
Sat 4th Mar 19:30 The Kite Runner yahoo google outlook
Sun 5th Mar
Mon 6th Mar 19:30 The Kite Runner yahoo google outlook
Tue 7th Mar 19:30 The Kite Runner yahoo google outlook
Wed 8th Mar 19:30 The Kite Runner yahoo google outlook
Thu 9th Mar 19:30 The Kite Runner yahoo google outlook
Fri 10th Mar 19:30 The Kite Runner yahoo google outlook
Sat 11th Mar 19:30 The Kite Runner yahoo google outlook

Are we missing an event?