Address
Address40 Brunswick Square
London
WC1N 1AZ
Websitewebsite
Twitter@FoundlingMuseum
Tags Alcohol License Disabled Access Historic Building Museum

List Upcoming Event

About

The Foundling Museum explores the history of the Foundling Hospital, the UK’s first children’s charity and first public art gallery.

Established in 1739 by philanthropist Thomas Coram, and continuing today as the children’s charity Coram, the Hospital was set up as an institution ‘for the maintenance and education of exposed and deserted young children’. Instrumental in helping Coram realise his vision were the artist William Hogarth, who encouraged leading artists of the day to donate work, and the composer George Frideric Handel, who gave annual benefit concerts of his Messiah. Through a dynamic programme of exhibitions and events, we celebrate their vision and the ways in which artists and children have inspired each other for over 275 years.

Discover the intriguing story behind this important London institution and the children who grew up there, alongside original period interiors, poignant artefacts and inspiring art. Pick up a unique, artist-designed souvenir in our Shop, or attend one of our many events from lunchtime concerts to free talks.

ADMISSION:
Adults £13.20*/£12
Concessions £9.90*/£9
FREE for 21 & under, Foundling Friends & National Art Pass holders

*Ticket prices include a voluntary Gift Aid donation

OPEN:
Tuesday - Saturday, 10:00 - 17:00
Sunday, 11:00 - 17:00
Monday closed

directions
Tube or Train We are less than 5 minutes’ walk from Russell Square underground station. Alternatively, King’s Cross St Pancras and Euston stations are approximately 10 minutes’ walk from the Museum. Buses The nearest buses are the 7, 59, 68, 91, 98, 168 and 188 from Russell Square Station. Driving Visitors are encouraged to use public transport where possible. There is an NCP carpark at the Brunswick Centre for visitors wishing to travel by car, please contact them directly for more information.

Pictures
Location
Venue reviews
from remotegoat by Jessica White, read now
Venue Owner/Manager

Do you manage this venue?

Upcoming Events
Thu 24th Oct 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Fri 25th Oct 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Sat 26th Oct 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
19:00 Hearing Handel's History yahoo google outlook
Sun 27th Oct 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Mon 28th Oct
Tue 29th Oct 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Wed 30th Oct 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Thu 31st Oct 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Fri 1st Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Sat 2nd Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Sun 3rd Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Mon 4th Nov
Tue 5th Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Wed 6th Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Thu 7th Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Fri 8th Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Sat 9th Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Sun 10th Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Mon 11th Nov
Tue 12th Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Wed 13th Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Thu 14th Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Fri 15th Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Sat 16th Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Sun 17th Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Mon 18th Nov
Tue 19th Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Wed 20th Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Thu 21st Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Fri 22nd Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Sat 23rd Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Sun 24th Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Mon 25th Nov
Tue 26th Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Wed 27th Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Thu 28th Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Fri 29th Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
19:00 Indoor Fireworks! Interval entertainm... yahoo google outlook
Sat 30th Nov 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Sun 1st Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Mon 2nd Dec
Tue 3rd Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Wed 4th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Thu 5th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Fri 6th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Sat 7th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Sun 8th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Mon 9th Dec
Tue 10th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Wed 11th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Thu 12th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Fri 13th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
19:00 A Yuletide Celebration with the Nest ... yahoo google outlook
Sat 14th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Sun 15th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Mon 16th Dec
Tue 17th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook

Are we missing an event?