Address
Address40 Brunswick Square
London
WC1N 1AZ
Websitewebsite
Twitter@FoundlingMuseum
Tags Alcohol License Disabled Access Historic Building Museum

List Upcoming Event

About

The Foundling Museum explores the history of the Foundling Hospital, the UK’s first children’s charity and first public art gallery.

Established in 1739 by philanthropist Thomas Coram, and continuing today as the children’s charity Coram, the Hospital was set up as an institution ‘for the maintenance and education of exposed and deserted young children’. Instrumental in helping Coram realise his vision were the artist William Hogarth, who encouraged leading artists of the day to donate work, and the composer George Frideric Handel, who gave annual benefit concerts of his Messiah. Through a dynamic programme of exhibitions and events, we celebrate their vision and the ways in which artists and children have inspired each other for over 275 years.

Discover the intriguing story behind this important London institution and the children who grew up there, alongside original period interiors, poignant artefacts and inspiring art. Pick up a unique, artist-designed souvenir in our Shop, or attend one of our many events from lunchtime concerts to free talks.

ADMISSION:
Adults £13.20*/£12
Concessions £9.90*/£9
FREE for 21 & under, Foundling Friends & National Art Pass holders

*Ticket prices include a voluntary Gift Aid donation

OPEN:
Tuesday - Saturday, 10:00 - 17:00
Sunday, 11:00 - 17:00
Monday closed

directions
Tube or Train We are less than 5 minutes’ walk from Russell Square underground station. Alternatively, King’s Cross St Pancras and Euston stations are approximately 10 minutes’ walk from the Museum. Buses The nearest buses are the 7, 59, 68, 91, 98, 168 and 188 from Russell Square Station. Driving Visitors are encouraged to use public transport where possible. There is an NCP carpark at the Brunswick Centre for visitors wishing to travel by car, please contact them directly for more information.

Pictures
Location
Venue reviews
from remotegoat by Jessica White, read now
Venue Owner/Manager

Do you manage this venue?

Upcoming Events
Fri 6th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Sat 7th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Sun 8th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Mon 9th Dec
Tue 10th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Wed 11th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Thu 12th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Fri 13th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
19:00 A Yuletide Celebration with the Nest ... yahoo google outlook
Sat 14th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Sun 15th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Mon 16th Dec
Tue 17th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Wed 18th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Thu 19th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Fri 20th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Sat 21st Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Sun 22nd Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Mon 23rd Dec
Tue 24th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Wed 25th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Thu 26th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Fri 27th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Sat 28th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Sun 29th Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Mon 30th Dec
Tue 31st Dec 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Wed 1st Jan 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Thu 2nd Jan 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Fri 3rd Jan 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Sat 4th Jan 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook
Sun 5th Jan 10:00 Two Last Nights! Show Business in Geo... yahoo google outlook

Are we missing an event?