Address
Address12-13 New Wharf Road
King's Cross
London
N1 9RT
Websitewebsite
Twitter@canalmuseum
Iveshttp://ives.info/gb/c7rd3
Tags Disabled Access Conference centre Gallery Hall Historic Building Museum

List Upcoming Event

About

You can see inside a narrowboat cabin, learn about the history of London's canals, about the cargoes carried, the people who lived and worked on the waterways, and the horses that pulled their boats. Discover how canals work, and see archive film of the working days. Peer down into the unique heritage of a huge Victorian ice well used to store ice imported from Norway and brought by ship and canal boat to be stored. The museum is housed in a former ice warehouse built in about 1862-3 for Carlo Gatti, the famous ice cream maker, and features the history of the ice trade.

Opening Hours

1000 - 1630 Tuesdays to Sundays plus bank holiday Mondays (public holidays). CLOSED on all other Mondays.Late opening until 1930 on the first Thursday of each month.

Last admission is 30m before closing. Special openings can be arranged for larger groups of visitors.

Closed 24th-27th December inclusive and 31st December.

Admission Charges
Type
Adult £4.00
Senior Citizen (60 or over), Students (with identity), Unwaged (with proof) £3.00
Child aged 6-15 inclusive £2.00/
Family ticket £10.
Child aged 5 or younger Free

Special prices for groups are available if booked in advance. We accept major credit and debit cards (except American Express and Diners Club). We accept The London Pass which gives travel and admission to a large range of London attractions at an inclusive price.

directions
From the front of King's Cross mainline station, walk alongside the station on the east side, down York Way. Carry on until you see a traffic island in the middle of the road with a right turn, this is Wharfdale Road. Follow Wharfdale Road until you see New Wharf Road which is the second turning on the left. From King's Cross Thameslink, exit from the station, turning left. Turn right at the traffic lights, cross the road and walk straight along the road opposite. Keep straight on via Balfe Street when the Caledonian Road turns to the right and you will reach Wharfdale Road. Arriving by London Bus King's Cross is served by numerous bus routes. The full list of route numbers is: 10, 17, 30, 45, 46, 63, 73, 91, 205, 214, 259, 390, 476. In a southbound direction route 10, 390, and in a northbound direction routes 17, 91, and 259 serve a request stop in Wharfdale Road, less than two minutes walk from the Museum. King's Cross by Train King's Cross mainline station is served by trains from the North-East of England, West Yorkshire and Scotland and by services from North East London, Cambridge, and Hertfordshire. The adjoining St. Pancras station is served by trains from the East Midlands and South Yorkshire. King's Cross Thameslink station is served by the Thameslink service which operates direct to and from Bedford, Luton, St. Albans, East Croydon, Gatwick Airport, and stations south to Brighton, also Sutton, Wimbledon, and local stations on the Thameslink route in London. Euston mainline station is approximately a 15 minute walk. Caledonian Road and Barnsbury station on the Silverlink Metro North London Line is about a 12 minute walk. Train times are available on the Internet from The National Rail website Arriving on Foot You can walk to the London Canal Museum comfortably from Euston, Russel Square, the British Museum, or along the towpath of the Regent's Canal (recommended only in daylight hours) from Camden where the Canalside is home to a famous open air market at weekends. It takes about 25 minutes to walk alongside the Canal from Camden Lock. Arriving by boat If you are cruising on the Regent's Canal, you can moor your boat beside the museum whilst you visit - subject to space being available. There is no charge for mooring a boat whilst those on board visit the museum. Overnight mooring is possible for a small charge (£6 per night per boat) but space cannot be guaranteed unless booked in advance. Priority is given to visitors and visiting groups in the use of the mooring. Battlebridge Basin is between St. Pancras Lock and the west end of Islington Tunnel. Turn into the basin and the museum is on your left. We have a page about moorings information. Arriving by car The museum does not have a car park and there is no nearby car park available. Most of the time, therefore, public transport is recommended. A limited number of parking meters are available in the surrounding streets, but the charges are high during restricted hours. Parking is free and normally available after 1830 on weekdays, after 1330 on Saturdays, and all day on Sundays. Disabled persons with a "blue badge" may park outside the museum. Please note that some parking spaces in the street are for residents only during the day. If you are visiting at weekends or attending an evening event please make sure that you do not obstruct an entrance to a garage - these are in use 24 hours per day by local residents. The museum is just outside the Congestion Charging Zone.

Pictures
Location
Venue reviews

We currently have no reviews for this venue.

Venue Owner/Manager

Do you manage this venue?

Upcoming Events
Thu 17th Oct 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Fri 18th Oct 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Sat 19th Oct 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Sun 20th Oct 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Mon 21st Oct
Tue 22nd Oct 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Wed 23rd Oct 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Thu 24th Oct 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Fri 25th Oct 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Sat 26th Oct 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Sun 27th Oct 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Mon 28th Oct
Tue 29th Oct 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Wed 30th Oct 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Thu 31st Oct 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Fri 1st Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Sat 2nd Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Sun 3rd Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Mon 4th Nov
Tue 5th Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Wed 6th Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Thu 7th Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
11:30 Tunnel Boat Trips yahoo google outlook
Fri 8th Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Sat 9th Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Sun 10th Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Mon 11th Nov
Tue 12th Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Wed 13th Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Thu 14th Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
11:30 Tunnel Boat Trips yahoo google outlook
Fri 15th Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Sat 16th Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Sun 17th Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Mon 18th Nov
Tue 19th Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Wed 20th Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Thu 21st Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Fri 22nd Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Sat 23rd Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Sun 24th Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Mon 25th Nov
Tue 26th Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Wed 27th Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Thu 28th Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Fri 29th Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Sat 30th Nov 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Sun 1st Dec 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Mon 2nd Dec
Tue 3rd Dec 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Wed 4th Dec 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Thu 5th Dec 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Fri 6th Dec 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Sat 7th Dec 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Sun 8th Dec 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Mon 9th Dec
Tue 10th Dec 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook
Wed 11th Dec 10:00 Exhibition: A Postcard from London's ... yahoo google outlook

Are we missing an event?