Address
AddressOaklands Park
Chichester
PO19 6AP
Tel01243781312
Websitewebsite
Twitter@ChichesterFT
Tags Theatre

List Upcoming Event

About

Chichester Festival Theatre is one of the UK’s flagship theatres, renowned for the exceptionally high standard of its productions as well as its work with the community and young people. Situated in a cathedral city in West Sussex between the South Downs and the sea, the Festival Theatre’s bold thrust stage design makes it one of England’s most striking playhouses – equally suited to epic drama and musicals. Its studio theatre, the Minerva, is particularly noted for premieres of new work alongside intimate revivals.

The annual Festival season runs from April to November, during which productions originated at Chichester reach an audience of over 230,000. Year-round programming continues through the winter with the Theatre presenting high-class touring productions, as well as a traditional Christmas show mounted by the renowned Chichester Festival Youth Theatre.

Three highlights of the Festival 2017 season transferred to London in 2018: the musical Caroline, or Change (which transferred to London’s Hampstead Theatre in March 2018 and ran at the West End’s Playhouse Theatre from November 2018); Ian McKellen in King Lear, which transferred to the West End in July 2018 and was broadcast to cinemas internationally by NT Live; and Daniel Evans’s production of Quiz, a new play by James Graham, which transferred to the West End’s Noël Coward Theatre in April 2018.

Other recent West End transfers from Chichester (as originating producer) include Half A Sixpence (Noël Coward Theatre), Young Chekhov (National Theatre), Running Wild (Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre), Guys and Dolls (Savoy Theatre), Taken at Midnight (Theatre Royal Haymarket), Gypsy (Savoy Theatre), Stevie (Hampstead Theatre), Private Lives (Gielgud Theatre) and Sweeney Todd (Adelphi Theatre).

Rooted firmly in its community, the Theatre runs a Learning, Education and Participation (LEAP) programme that is a beacon of excellence and inspiration to its local audience, as well as being home to one of the country’s largest youth theatres with over 800 members.

For more information, visit cft.org.uk

Pictures
Location
Venue reviews

We currently have no reviews for this venue.

Venue Owner/Manager

Do you manage this venue?

Upcoming Events
Sun 19th Jan 14:30 Six yahoo google outlook
Mon 20th Jan
Tue 21st Jan 19:45 The Strange Tale of Charlie Chaplin a... yahoo google outlook
Wed 22nd Jan 19:45 The Strange Tale of Charlie Chaplin a... yahoo google outlook
Thu 23rd Jan 19:45 The Strange Tale of Charlie Chaplin a... yahoo google outlook
Fri 24th Jan 19:45 The Strange Tale of Charlie Chaplin a... yahoo google outlook
Sat 25th Jan 19:45 The Strange Tale of Charlie Chaplin a... yahoo google outlook
Sun 26th Jan
Mon 27th Jan
Tue 28th Jan 19:30 My Cousin Rachel yahoo google outlook
Wed 29th Jan 14:30 My Cousin Rachel yahoo google outlook
19:30 My Cousin Rachel yahoo google outlook
Thu 30th Jan 14:30 My Cousin Rachel yahoo google outlook
19:30 My Cousin Rachel yahoo google outlook
Fri 31st Jan 19:30 My Cousin Rachel yahoo google outlook
Sat 1st Feb 14:30 My Cousin Rachel yahoo google outlook
19:30 My Cousin Rachel yahoo google outlook
Sun 2nd Feb
Mon 3rd Feb
Tue 4th Feb
Wed 5th Feb
Thu 6th Feb 19:30 A Monster Calls yahoo google outlook
Fri 7th Feb 19:30 A Monster Calls yahoo google outlook
Sat 8th Feb 19:30 A Monster Calls yahoo google outlook
Sun 9th Feb
Mon 10th Feb
Tue 11th Feb 14:30 A Monster Calls yahoo google outlook
14:30 A Monster Calls yahoo google outlook
Wed 12th Feb 14:30 A Monster Calls yahoo google outlook
19:30 A Monster Calls yahoo google outlook
Thu 13th Feb 14:30 A Monster Calls yahoo google outlook
Fri 14th Feb 19:30 A Monster Calls yahoo google outlook
Sat 15th Feb 14:30 A Monster Calls yahoo google outlook
19:30 A Monster Calls yahoo google outlook

Are we missing an event?