Venue information
Chichester Festival Theatre
Oaklands Park, Chichester, PO19 6AP
t: 01243781312
King's
297 Bath Street, Glasgow, G2 4JN
t: 0141 240 1111
Richmond Theatre
The Green, Richmond, Surrey, TW9 1QJ
t: 0870 060 6651
About this event
Cost £39 - £10
Tel01243 781312
Following the sold-out run of "The Wipers Times" at Chichester last year, Ian Hislop and Nick Newman have once again taken ispiration from real life events for their new play.

William Hone, the forgotten hero of free speech, was a bookseller, publisher and satirist. In 1817, he stood trial for 'impious blasphemy and seditious libel'. The only crime he had committed was to be funny. Worse than that he was funny by parodying religious texts. And worst of all, he was funny about the despotic government and the libidinous monarchy.

Along with his great ally, political cartoonist George Cruikshank, Hone sought vindication for his laughable offences and fought for freedom in one of the most remarkable legal cases of its time.
Pictures
Reviews
Official Review by Jill Lawrie, read now
People involved

Are you involved?
Tell us how you are connected

Upcoming Performances
Tue 19th Feb 19:30 Richmond Theatre, The Green, Richmond, Surrey... yahoo google outlook
Wed 20th Feb 19:30 Richmond Theatre, The Green, Richmond, Surrey... yahoo google outlook
Thu 21st Feb 19:30 Richmond Theatre, The Green, Richmond, Surrey... yahoo google outlook
Fri 22nd Feb 19:30 Richmond Theatre, The Green, Richmond, Surrey... yahoo google outlook
Sat 23rd Feb 19:30 Richmond Theatre, The Green, Richmond, Surrey... yahoo google outlook
Sun 24th Feb
Mon 25th Feb 19:30 Milton Keynes Theatre, 500 Marlborough Gate, Milto... yahoo google outlook
Tue 26th Feb 19:30 Milton Keynes Theatre, 500 Marlborough Gate, Milto... yahoo google outlook
Wed 27th Feb 19:30 Milton Keynes Theatre, 500 Marlborough Gate, Milto... yahoo google outlook
Thu 28th Feb 19:30 Milton Keynes Theatre, 500 Marlborough Gate, Milto... yahoo google outlook
Fri 1st Mar
Sat 2nd Mar
Sun 3rd Mar
Mon 4th Mar
Tue 5th Mar 19:30 Devonshire Park Theatre, Compton Street, Eastbourne,... yahoo google outlook
Wed 6th Mar 19:30 Devonshire Park Theatre, Compton Street, Eastbourne,... yahoo google outlook
Thu 7th Mar 19:30 Devonshire Park Theatre, Compton Street, Eastbourne,... yahoo google outlook
Fri 8th Mar 19:30 Devonshire Park Theatre, Compton Street, Eastbourne,... yahoo google outlook
Sat 9th Mar 19:30 Devonshire Park Theatre, Compton Street, Eastbourne,... yahoo google outlook