Venue information
Oval House Theatre
52-54 Kennington Oval, London, SE11 5SW
t: 020 7582 0080
About this event
Cost 14/8
Websitewebsite
Tel020 7582 7680
Identity Crisis

One woman show written and performed by Phina Oruche

Nine Characters, Black , White, Old, Young, Male, Female, One Woman

Identity crisis a psychiatry definition;- "a period of uncertainty and confusion in which a person's sense of identity becomes insecure, typically due to a change in their expected aims or role in society."


Phina Oruche is having an Identity Crisis
Following highly successful runs at the Edinburgh Fringe 2016, International Slavery Museum Liverpool, and The Wardrobe Theatre in Bristol, Identity Crisis by Phina Oruche (ITV’s Footballers’ Wives, Channel 4’s Hollyoaks) transfers to London’s Ovalhouse. This hilariously funny one-woman show explores identity struggles that are common to us all.
The play was born out of a real life story of the sudden death of Oruche’s 19-year-old niece in her home in 2011 from a brain aneurism. This distressing time was followed by a series of racial and international incidents happening throughout the world and in Oruche’s life. Identity Crisis helped her turn a mess into a message.
Identity Crisis focuses on nine characters all of whom are having their own identity crises; they are black, white, old, young, male and female. The audience are taken through sixty images of Oruche when she worked in the world of fashion, providing an illuminating exposition of life on the catwalk. Starting with the media's telling of when tragedy struck, this laugh-out-loud show examines Oruche's own observations on others conceptions of black people in the media via her life as she worked as a fashion model, actress, radio presenter and then writer.
Through its simple staging, the cast is brought to life; from Amy Tan, a working-class white girl with a Scouse brow and a taste for spray tans and black lads, to Antonio de Silva, a football crazy Italian living in LA who is missing his mum.

Phina Oruche comments, I created Identity Crisis for two reasons. My life stopped when tragedy struck and I plunged into a deep, dark, interminable grief. The range of emotions and the questions I posed about my life and its value at times made me feel like I was in a crisis. This show has given me the freedom to play characters I would never get cast as. All my characters are vulnerable, flawed, and struggling with who they are. Identity Crisis has proved cathartic to me and has restored my joy and faith in humanity.
Pictures
Reviews

We currently have no reviews for this event, please add one using the link above.

People involved

Are you involved?
Tell us how you are connected

Upcoming Performances
Wed 11th Dec 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Thu 12th Dec 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Fri 13th Dec 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Sat 14th Dec 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Sun 15th Dec 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Mon 16th Dec 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Tue 17th Dec 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Wed 18th Dec 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Thu 19th Dec 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Fri 20th Dec 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Sat 21st Dec 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Sun 22nd Dec 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Mon 23rd Dec 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Tue 24th Dec 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Wed 25th Dec 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Thu 26th Dec 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Fri 27th Dec 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Sat 28th Dec 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Sun 29th Dec 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Mon 30th Dec 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Tue 31st Dec 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Wed 1st Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Thu 2nd Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Fri 3rd Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Sat 4th Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Sun 5th Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Mon 6th Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Tue 7th Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Wed 8th Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Thu 9th Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Fri 10th Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Sat 11th Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Sun 12th Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Mon 13th Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Tue 14th Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Wed 15th Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Thu 16th Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Fri 17th Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Sat 18th Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Sun 19th Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Mon 20th Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Tue 21st Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Wed 22nd Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Thu 23rd Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Fri 24th Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Sat 25th Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Sun 26th Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Mon 27th Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Tue 28th Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook
Wed 29th Jan 19:45 Oval House Theatre, 52-54 Kennington Oval, Lond... yahoo google outlook