Venue information
Noël Coward Theatre
St Martin's Lane, London, WC2N 4AU
About this event
Cost £10 - £46
Tel01243 781312
Known play Learn more about this play
The iconic British musical adaptation of H G Wells' disguised autobiographical novel 'Kipps: The Story of a Simple Soul', based on the author's unhappy apprenticeship as a draper at Hyde's Drapery Emporium in Southsea. This new stage version of the novel is a completely fresh adaptation by Julian Fellowes.

Arthur Kipps, an orphan, is an over-worked draper's assistant at Shalford's Bazaar, Folkestone, at the turn of the last century. He is a charming but ordinary young man who, along with his fellow apprentices, dreams of a better and more fulfilling world, but he likes his fun just like any other, except not quite.

When Kipps unexpectedly inherits a fortune that propels him into high society, it confuses everything he thought he knew about life. Watching him wrestle with his new identity is his childhood companion and not-quite girlfriend, Ann Pornick, who sees with dismay how Arthur is being made over in a new image by the beautiful and classy Helen Walsingham. She is always there with helpful hints on how Arthur could improve himself and make his life richer and more meaningful, if only he would believe in himself, and listen to her. Both of these young women love Arthur - there is no doubt about that - but which should he listen to? With the help of his friends, Arthur learns that if you want to have the chance of living the right life, you need to make the right choices.
Pictures
Reviews
Official Review by Jill Lawrie, read now
People involved

Are you involved?
Tell us how you are connected

Upcoming Performances
Tue 27th Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Wed 28th Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Thu 29th Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Fri 30th Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Sat 1st Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Sun 2nd Jul
Mon 3rd Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Tue 4th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Wed 5th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Thu 6th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Fri 7th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Sat 8th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Sun 9th Jul
Mon 10th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Tue 11th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Wed 12th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Thu 13th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Fri 14th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Sat 15th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Sun 16th Jul
Mon 17th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Tue 18th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Wed 19th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Thu 20th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Fri 21st Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Sat 22nd Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Sun 23rd Jul
Mon 24th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Tue 25th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Wed 26th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Thu 27th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Fri 28th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Sat 29th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Sun 30th Jul
Mon 31st Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Tue 1st Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Wed 2nd Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Thu 3rd Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Fri 4th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Sat 5th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Sun 6th Aug
Mon 7th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Tue 8th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Wed 9th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Thu 10th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Fri 11th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Sat 12th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Sun 13th Aug
Mon 14th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Tue 15th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Wed 16th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Thu 17th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Fri 18th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Sat 19th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Sun 20th Aug
Mon 21st Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Tue 22nd Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook
Wed 23rd Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W... yahoo google outlook