Venue information
Noël Coward Theatre
St Martin's Lane, London, WC2N 4AU
About this event
Cost £10 - £46
Known play Learn more about this play
Tags Theatre, Musical
The iconic British musical adaptation of H G Wells' disguised autobiographical novel 'Kipps: The Story of a Simple Soul', based on the author's unhappy apprenticeship as a draper at Hyde's Drapery Emporium in Southsea. This new stage version of the novel is a completely fresh adaptation by Julian Fellowes.

Arthur Kipps, an orphan, is an over-worked draper's assistant at Shalford's Bazaar, Folkestone, at the turn of the last century. He is a charming but ordinary young man who, along with his fellow apprentices, dreams of a better and more fulfilling world, but he likes his fun just like any other, except not quite.

When Kipps unexpectedly inherits a fortune that propels him into high society, it confuses everything he thought he knew about life. Watching him wrestle with his new identity is his childhood companion and not-quite girlfriend, Ann Pornick, who sees with dismay how Arthur is being made over in a new image by the beautiful and classy Helen Walsingham. She is always there with helpful hints on how Arthur could improve himself and make his life richer and more meaningful, if only he would believe in himself, and listen to her. Both of these young women love Arthur - there is no doubt about that - but which should he listen to? With the help of his friends, Arthur learns that if you want to have the chance of living the right life, you need to make the right choices.
Pictures
Reviews
Official Review by Jill Lawrie, read now
People Involved

Are you involved?
Tell us how you are connected

Dates & venues in the next 90 days
Wed 1st Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 2nd Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 3rd Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 4th Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 6th Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 7th Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 8th Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 9th Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 10th Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 11th Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 13th Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 14th Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 15th Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 16th Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 17th Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 18th Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 20th Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 21st Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 22nd Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 23rd Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 24th Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 25th Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 27th Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 28th Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 29th Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 30th Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 31st Mar 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 1st Apr 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 3rd Apr 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 4th Apr 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 5th Apr 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 6th Apr 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 7th Apr 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 8th Apr 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 10th Apr 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 11th Apr 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 12th Apr 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 13th Apr 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 14th Apr 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 15th Apr 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 17th Apr 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 18th Apr 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 19th Apr 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 20th Apr 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 21st Apr 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 22nd Apr 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 24th Apr 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 25th Apr 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 26th Apr 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 27th Apr 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 28th Apr 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 29th Apr 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 1st May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 2nd May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 3rd May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 4th May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 5th May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 6th May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 8th May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 9th May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 10th May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 11th May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 12th May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 13th May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 15th May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 16th May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 17th May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 18th May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 19th May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 20th May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 22nd May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 23rd May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 24th May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 25th May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 26th May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 27th May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 29th May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 30th May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 31st May 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 1st Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 2nd Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 3rd Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 5th Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 6th Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 7th Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 8th Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 9th Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 10th Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 12th Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 13th Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 14th Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 15th Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 16th Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 17th Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 19th Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 20th Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 21st Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 22nd Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 23rd Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 24th Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 26th Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 27th Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 28th Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 29th Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 30th Jun 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 1st Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 3rd Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 4th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 5th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 6th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 7th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 8th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 10th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 11th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 12th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 13th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 14th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 15th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 17th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 18th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 19th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 20th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 21st Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 22nd Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 24th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 25th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 26th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 27th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 28th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 29th Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 31st Jul 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 1st Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 2nd Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 3rd Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 4th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 5th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 7th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 8th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 9th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 10th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 11th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 12th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 14th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 15th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 16th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 17th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 18th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 19th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 21st Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 22nd Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 23rd Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 24th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 25th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Sat 26th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Mon 28th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Tue 29th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Wed 30th Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Thu 31st Aug 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...
Fri 1st Sep 19:30 Noël Coward Theatre, St Martin's Lane, London, W...